Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Air pollution has now become a global issue. While some are of the view that observing an international car-free day can reduce the effects of air pollution. On the contrary, others believe that there are alternatives that could prove to be effective. In my opinion, Although, banning cars for a day can make a difference a day. Adopting other effective measures like introducing a fuel policy, electric cars and improvising on public transport can have a lasting effect on this growing concern. Supporters of the international car-free day believe that cars contribute to air pollution by burning fossil fuels which emit harmful gases in the air, hazardous to nature and mankind. For example omission of cars for 24 hours can reduce the levels of carbon dioxide in the air. On the other hand, if a day of car banning can make a difference then we must look at better-prolonged options that could bring a change. Hence in my opinion, if the government adopts policies like levying taxes on fuel consumption and limiting the purchase of vehicles per family. Secondly, provide cheap and alternate public transport options. For example, introducing noodle pick-ups and drops to concentrated travel locations and introducing carpooling apps. Thirdly, introducing the use of electric cars thereby reducing the burden on the use of fossil fuels. To conclude, banning cars for a day can be an efficient method to adopt as a temporary solution. Other options like the introduction of electric cars, introducing fuel taxes & improving public transport methods can have a lasting effect on air pollution thereby carving a pathway for a better future.