Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays the promotion of different products has increased largely due to modern technology. It is argued that advertisements prevent people from being unique and make them want to do the same things. I do not quite agree with this view. In my opinion, advertising cannot really suppress the individuality of people. Although modern technology has enabled adverts to reach all sections of the society, they cannot fully take away the unique behaviours and characters of people. They may wear clothes of the same colour and pattern; however, the way they carry the dress is totally different. For instance, we can dress up twins in similar attire but cannot control how they react or behave; it is totally their wish to be themselves. So, advertisements cannot suppress / control individuality. Furthermore, the advertisement has no control over the customers or how they take the products and moreover they cannot expect them to have the same mindset about their products. Every individual is different and unique both physically and mentally. Hence their way of thinking and using the product will be different. It all depends on the person. For example, a laptop can be used for many different purposes. So people will use them as they need for their unique purpose. So the advertisement cannot decide how people will use a product. In conclusion, even though advertisements have grown hugely these days they cannot make people lose their uniqueness and characters. Therefore, I firmly disagree with the argument that advertisements discourage people from being unique.