Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that advertising is very successful at persuading us to purchase things, while others say that we no longer give attention to advertising. While advertising is effective because people do not tend to purchase something unless they see it, I believe that people ignore advertising since they are aware that these marketing strategies can mislead. On the one hand, advertising plays an important role in purchasing things because people do not buy something unless they see it. That is to say that people tend to not buy products that they do not know exist from companies. For example, Apple Company advertises the new release of Iphones and more and more people come to buy these phones within hours. Despite this, I would argue that advertising is a common thing that people ignore. On the other hand, advertising is ubiquitous and people give no attention to it because people know that these adverts can mislead. That is to say, if individuals were disappointed in the past by a purchase that did not live up to expectations, it makes them less likely to believe advertisements in the future. For instance, many people purchase exercise equipment that promises fast and easy results, and when they fail to lose weight, they become disenchanted with all exercise equipment advertising. I, therefore, believe that advertising fails to persuade people to purchase products. In conclusion, while advertising can be effective for showing people to see brand new products, I think that people ignore these advertisements for their misleading.