Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Is experimenting on animals good or bad? It is an often controversially debated topic that animal testing is justifiable or not. I however believe that experimenting on living beings is not the answer to experimentations on medical drugs. Firstly, testing fresh drugs on animals induce immense pain on these creatures. Us humans will never get to know the aches caused by the drugs because it is first tested on animals. For instance, it has been researched that 65% of test subjects die from the immense pain rather than the failure of the drug. Hence, it is best to not put innocent creatures through hurtful experimentation. Moreover, the body systems of these creatures are different from that of human beings. So is it essentially beneficial to test on animals? If our body types are different, the effect from the drug on each body is not the same. It is known that a fish has 4 hearts, whereas a human has one heart, this would not test the effectiveness of the drug. In addition to this, the biodiversity of a certain region would rapidly decrease due to the production of more and more drugs. The only alternative is to get volunteers from the general public. This way consent is taken prior to being experimented on a certain drug. Governments can also provide funds to these volunteers as a method of satisfying both parties. This would prevent conflicts as consent is granted from the volunteer so that the drug can be tested on them. In conclusion, animal experimentation can lead to induced pain and reduced biodiversity. Therefore, it should be deemed a more scarce method of testing for drugs.