It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion ? What sort punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour for children?

Learning to be able to distinguish between right and wrong is vital for children. While some people think that punishment is necessary and helps them learn this difference, I personally disagree with this idea. There is no doubt that learning the distinction between right and wrong is vital for children and they should practice it from an early age. However, this does not necessarily imply that they should be punished if they cannot understand this difference properly. Punishment is not a solution because it does not actually explain why something is wrong and does not always offer the right way of doing it either. It just puts the children in uncomfortable situations. For example, if a kid uses his phone instead of studying for school, taking away his phone as a punishment does not teach him that playing with it is not a good use of his time. Parents and teachers shot not be allowed to use intense and harsh punishments if they intend to teach good behaviour to children. They should instead, build up a good relationship with the kids and then try to explain reasons why something is right or wrong. However, if the children did something wrong, parents can make them do extra work related to that specific mistake that their children have made. This will help them remember it better and avoid repeating it. Furthermore, all teachers, fathers, and mothers must clearly explain why they think something is right. In conclusion, although it is important for children to learn what is right and what is not, I believe punishment is not an effective way of teaching them this lesson and they should always be provided with explanations.