The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The growth of the tourism industry resulted in making English the most predominant language worldwide. It is thought to become the only spoken language in the world provided that this trend continues to grow. This may provide an opportunity to interact at ease with people from different countries, but it can be the reason for losing the sense of national identity. One of the main advantages of speaking only English is having no barriers to communicating with foreigners. Humans will be able to express their thoughts fluently to people from entirely different backgrounds, which broadens their horizons and facilitates the exchange of authentic ideas from various perspectives. For example, statistics provided by Harvard University show that projects made by non-native English -speaking teams have a possibility of gaining success 45% higher than those made by multilingual-speaking groups, as approaches to the deal from diverse angles can give immediate and quick salvation for complexities. On the other hand, knowing only one language is disadvantageous as it leads to the deprivation of cultural traits associated with their mother tongue. Not only might a monolingual world deprive people of valuing ancestral heritage, but it could burden the lives of non-native elderly generations, as it is complicated to acquire new knowledge at their ages. For instance, the case of immigrants living in English -speaking areas shows that individuals surrounded by another language have a tendency to forget their traditional values later and assume that they were always a part of that society. In conclusion, English is becoming a more prevalent communication tool globally year by year due to the expansion of tourism. It is believed to be used as the only dialect in the conversation in the foreseeable future. Although possessing only English can be a bridge between 2 foreigners, it might cause a national identity loss.