some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many children and teenagers are indeed attached to their smartphones most of the time. This is because digital gadgets are extremely addictive and I believe this is a negative development. The main reason why young people are dependent on smartphones is that these technologies are so addictive as they provide several entertaining features that those kids could not even put the devices down. Online games, for example, let users enter into the virtual world which is more interesting than real-life hobbies such as the game chess. They are also able to make online friends who are online almost the whole day and perhaps at night, thus, they can chat or play games with each other all the time. Social network like Instagram is another example of this issue which are increasingly becoming more popular amongst children and teenagers as they can share their pictures and videos and go live any time they wish to. living in a virtual world obviously, causes addiction problems as well as mental and physical health disorders. In addition to the main difficulty mentioned above related to overusing smartphones by youth, this technological development harm children in various ways. To begin with, as young individuals are highly addicted to their phones, they may face both mental and physical issues. Lack of sleep because of playing online games, may lead to depression, anxiety, underperforming at school as well as constant headaches, and weakened eyesight. Similarly, a sedentary lifestyle due to spending hours on online games and social media and a lack of physical activity has been linked to childhood obesity which is a major problem as a result of technological development. In conclusion, the main reason related to phone dependency among school-age individuals is the addictive pattern of these features, which have adverse impacts on them.