Some people say that zoos have no useful purpose. Others believe that zoos are beneficial in many ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally believed that maintaining a zoo hardly implies any benefit. Conversely, certain masses state that zoos have numerous advantages. However, in my opinion, a zoo is essential to educate children about various wildlife creatures. The primary reason for considering zoos as a useful resource is the learning benefits that are imparted to kids. Children can explore a zoo and the various animals residing in it comfortably. They can watch them grow in natural conditions. Furthermore, it is safer for them since the animals are behind the bars and thus cannot harm the children. Additionally, zoos protect an animal from hunting and poaching. For instance, animals such as deer are safer in a zoo than in forests as they can become easy prey to forage by a carnivorous animal like a lion. Hence, it is evident that people find zoos meritous since they guard wildlife creatures. On the other hand, the cause for mentioning zoos of no helpful purpose is that the establishment of a zoo affects the ecosystem. There is a food chain which is to be followed by the forest residents to maintain effective ecological growth. Nonetheless, animals are interfered with in their natural upbringing by introducing zoos. Moreover, certain wild animals die due to the unavailability of sufficient meat. Also, at times, they enter urban areas and harm humans in search of food. Additionally, the animals are parted from their offspring or elder ones which fills their heart with grief and sometimes, this becomes a cause for their death. To exemplify, reports suggest that an imbalanced food chain is the only basis for the extinction of leopards. Therefore, introducing more and more animals in zoos is adversely affecting wildlife survival. To conclude, although zoos are essential for the young generation, they turn out to be dangerous for the ecosphere. Nevertheless, in my understanding, animals in zoos can be replaced after a few months to avoid this problem.