In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between citles. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a continuous debate on how to spend money on transportation means. While some people argue that considerable amounts of funds should be spent on railways for trains between cities, others believe that it is better to use this money for the enhancement of the current public transportation system. On the one hand, there are many people travelling between cities every day. In order to move them to their destinations a large number of transportation means are needed. If there was a way to transport more people in less time, the process would become more efficient. This is why some people think the expenditure of funds must be focused on building new railways suited for fast trains which can save a lot of time for travellers and reduce the number of possible accidents. On the other hand, travels within the city are more frequent and most of the travellers are usually in a hurry. This is why some people believe that more money should be spent on improving the existing public transportation system. Moreover, if enhanced public transport is available at all times, people will prefer using it instead of their personal cars. This will not only reduce the amount of traffic on the streets but also, will have positive environmental effects. For example, air pollution, noise pollution, and the amount of greenhouse gas emissions will be reduced. In conclusion, while both views have their advantages, I believe it is better to use more money on the improvement and redevelopment of public transport since it is more commonly used.