In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

There is no iota of doubt that technology has reached every nook and corner of the world, however some masses considered that bicycle is a better medium of conveyance to reach to any end of the urban areas despite of the advanced transportation growth. This essay will illustrate the merits and demerits of this trend in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with the pros, the gaudiest one is that cycling reduces pollution and also maintain the physical wellness of a person. To elaborate, bicycle does not emit harmful gasses like other automobiles which prevents the spread of air and noise pollution. Moreover, it also plays a significant role in maintaining fitness of an individual because cycling is a best exercise that helps in lowering the body weight. For example, a recent research from WHO (World Health Organization) observed that daily use of bicycle results in reduction of heart diseases, fight obesity and maintain the body posture. Thus, it can be argued without any scepticism that using a cycle has plethora of benefits. Shifting towards the cons that how riding a bicycle take longer time and not suitable for longer journey. In other words, it is a daunting task to ride a cycle for more than 10kms in the congested traffic situations and also take extra amount of time as compared to other motor vehicles that results in delay. For example, a headline from BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in 2010, claimed that only 10% of the population in America use bicycle due to ineffective traffic management. Therefore, there is no doubt that using a bicycle for extended hours have some drawbacks which cannot be snubbed. In conclusion, although this phenomenon has optimistic outcomes such as reduce in enviornmental pollution and health benefits, yet using it for far away destinations has it ill effects.