In some countries, prisons are the most common solution to crimes. However, some others believe that education is a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that the punishment of criminals is the only deterrent against crimes, while others choose education as an alternative. In my opinion, although learning plays a significant role in rehabilitating criminals, however punishment through imprisonment is the most effective in preventing brutality and leading to the development of a safer community. First, the laws that the governments set against violations such as life imprisonment and capital punishment are the leading cause behind the decline in the rates of violations around the world since such laws prohibit offensive actions due to the consequences and the punishments that people might face. For instance, it is noticed that some countries that don't use capital punishment have higher rates of crimes and communities tend to act aggressively. On the other hand, education serves in the rehab of the community through learning appropriate behaviour and discipline as well. In fact, the process of learning starts from childhood and never ends, therefore it is recommended to teach criminals rather than punish them since prison can only serve in boosting forbidden actions. For example, people in prison share their experiences and get involved with gangs rather than realising the consequences of their actions, nevertheless, education is the most appropriate method the change the mindset of these people. To sum up, there is an ongoing debate about whether punishment or education should be followed as a process for rehabilitation, I think that despite the role of educating, imprisonment and punishments under the law are the most effective deterrents for crimes.