Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of university?

It is still a subject of debate in society whether universities should give learnings that will be beneficial for the workspace or let the students freely learn materials only for the sake of understanding. This essay will take a side in the freedom of learning alongside my opinions and related illustrations. To begin with, students who study under pressure especially on boring subjects to gain professional skills will never gain knowledge efficiently. This issue is because they are not happy with what they experience during their journey which leads to unsatisfied outcomes even if the subjects are actually crucial and needed in certain workplaces. For instance, as Indonesia has already applied the freedom of learning in its education system since 2020, there has been a significant upward trend where most of the learners enjoy their fields of study and mostly feel that they in fact gain valuable and memorable knowledge. More than that, several learners will get affected by their mental states like burned out if they get pushed on things that are not interesting. Furthermore, several learners choose to attend universities not for specific work preparation, instead, they purely just want to have an understanding of certain areas of subjects. This phenomenon happens in many individuals who only want to develop their personal growth and have more degrees. To illustrate, many institutes in New Zealand have versatile courses which talk about certain regions' famous animals that can be attended by students even if most of their majors or careers are not related to biological stuff. This issue shows that many of them are full of curiosity and in fact, universities should facilitate their needs. To sum up, I strongly believe that the main function of universities is to facilitate students in the form of education methods that let them explore things for their own knowledge even it is not associated with any formal skill. It is because the students not only will feel less stress with what they learn, but also universities become a place for them to pour all of their curiosity.