Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people graviate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Huge amounts of investments and capital in businesses mostly result in effective marketing strategies and benefits and conquer a big portion of a market. Such a phenomenon leads to untoward consequences. This essay will outline the negative effects of these giant businesses and will suggest possible solutions to make people support local producers. To begin with, due to big marketing campaigns big companies have extremely high sales and win the largest portions of the market, which leads to losses for other players in the market. Not profitable trade eventually would have no choice but shut down and leave a big number of workers unemployed, losing their source of income. Another solid problem which consumers might face because of this phenomenon is that such a monopolistic business market will provide opportunities for these huge manufacturers to set unreasonably high prices on goods since there are no other competitors. Having only big businesses, obviously, is not advantageous for societies. To alleviate such difficult situations, a few solutions can be suggested. First, governments may force big corporations to close their businesses for a few days a month to allow small manufacturers to make their profit and survive together. It would make consumers use local services and help these small businesses. Korean big grocery chain Emart, for instance, is closed twice a month, so local grocery shops may make their sales on those days. One more thing that government may do is support these small companies by cutting their taxes, which will definitely encourage them not to give up on their work. In conclusion, sharing the market between small and giant companies will be always a hot issue for many nations' economies and their governments. This essay demonstrated that supporting only big businesses might lead to unemployment of numerous employers and a monopolistic market, however forcing these big corporations to close their business for a few days a month and cutting taxes on small companies will ease this problematic situation.