Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, but not local people. Why this is the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It can seen be that many people prefer to visit places such as museums and monuments which are far from their hometown. This is because they already know about their local history and they love to go to the places they have not seen yet and are curious to visit there. This essay put light on the measures that authorities can take to entice the residents toward these sites. To commence with, everyone ignores the things that they already know about like local history. The foremost reason is, people already studied about old culture during their schooling, therefore, they are visiting the farthest places rather than going to the city museum. To explain, many museums have old paintings and artworks on the walls which can usually find in the newspapers and books. As a result, residents feel that it will be wasting of time if they go to the museums and historical sites. Hence, they choose to travel outside the country. There is a number of steps that can be taken by the local authorities to tackle this problem. Firstly, implementing new technological equipment in the museums and monuments such as laptops and iPods can lure the local masses. To illustrate, the way in which information is delivered is getting old. Thus, implementing new methods of representation with the same antique resources and materials, cannot stop the residents to come to the monuments. Therefore, it is essential to involve the latest technology in traditional places. In conclusion, people always prefer to approach places where they have not been in their life so that a few technological-related changes can attract a majority of residents.