It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views

Countries worldwide have different rules to follow related to crimes, some believe that the death penalty is a must as a result of heinous crimes, while others disagree with that, and tend to live long sentences. Both views have positive and negative perspectives, which will be discussed in the below text. Firstly, some tremendous crimes could result in huge damage to society, and they could sometimes lead to killing and even worth. For example, some criminals which are on the most wanted list, have done several cases all over the world, such as kidnapping, and drugs selling, so as a result if they ever got busted, and put in jail, they could also continue doing corruption even while they are in prison. Furthermore, such criminals could threaten the country using their outside leads, for,example such a case happened before in Mexico after catching a drug dealer. On the contrary, other countries don't accept such deterrents, they believe that humans should not determine who lives or who dies, so the maximum punishment for criminals is a life-long sentence, whatever the crime was. Obviously, those countries that accept such a sentence, will teach criminals a lesson for a long life because for some criminals, dying is better for them than spending 20 or 30 years in prison and sometimes more. For example, drug dealers who are always in danger, know that they could die anytime, so in their opinion dying is nothing. In this case, it will be easy for them to die, rather than spend their whole life in prison. To conclude, the Death penalty and a life-long sentence are two different punishments having their assets and liabilities, countries might go for either of them and they might take both views into consideration while judging a criminal according to what he did.