It is thought that the increase in youth crime rates can be linked to an increase in violence shown in the media. Do you agree that this is the main factor causing juvenile crime and what ideas can you offer to deal with the situation?

The scenes that include violence and unlawful activities can be watched on television and online platforms nowadays. Young people can reach these movies, series and videos easily and therefore, some of them can be affected badly by these media resources. In this essay, I will discuss how media affect young people to commit a crime and propose solutions that can solve these issues. First of all, everyone whether they are young or old can reach nearly every type of movie or series online effortlessly or without being applied censorship. Certain movies may involve violence and it can lead to forming bad behaviour in juveniles. A recent study carried out in Turkey shows that young people who watch movies that include violent scenes tend to act like actors or actresses. They think that they gain a reputation or concern like film actors or actresses provided that they behave violently. However, there are lots of other reasons for juveniles to commit a crime such as a bad environment, poor economic conditions or being far from education. Last but not least, in my opinion, the major reason juveniles commit a crime is not reaching qualified education not the effect of the media. Moral development is one of the critical issues in life-long development. Children may commit a crime in the event that they are not aware of what is morally right or wrong. Parents must educate their children by meeting them with the cases that can be morally right or wrong and commenting on their responses. Moreover, moral education in schools is crucial since thanks to systematic and controlled activities enable students how to behave in the morally right way and to be good members of society. In conclusion, there are several factors that cause young people to commit a crime. Violence in media can affect juveniles badly and lead them to be part of illegal activities but by providing good parenting and teaching, children can be far from violence.