In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages

In the contemporary era, technological advances and excessive awareness of people have significant effects on people's lives in various aspects. It is said that people have more longevity compared to the past in many countries. Some individuals think that managing this situation is difficult for governments, while others argue that their presence benefits society. We cannot deny that the benefits of having more elderly people outweigh the drawbacks, and I am going to elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, senior citizens have been considered valuable assets because they have a lot of life and professional experience, which is beneficial. For example, these people have a lot of free time after their retirement to help their children raise their grandchildren in my country. Therefore, their children have enough time to improve their personal and professional achievements, and their sense of satisfaction and happiness will grow. Similarly, the aged population can bring development by offering their advice in different fields. For instance, in Japan, the government invite them to some communities to convey their knowledge and information about their fields to the next generation. Consequently, they cannot only help society, but they also stay active and healthy. On the other hand, older people usually take a lot of medicine due to some chronic diseases they have. Likewise, some of them live alone, and they need to have a caregiver to meet their needs. As a result, the government should provide a budget for ensuring their basic needs, as well as their medicine and nurses, which imposes a lot of pressure on the government. In conclusion, despite the financial challenges, the elderly population remains an invaluable resource that can significantly contribute to social and economic development. I recommend that all governments be grateful for having them to strengthen their position among other countries