The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Gone are they days when people knew mostly only news about their local community. These days, easier and more convenient travelling, social media, newspapers, television along with other tools for communication allow to get acquainted with what humans do on the other part of the globe. Hence, in the contemporary world, the debate has sparked on whether the positive aspects of this change supersede its negative sides. It is important to dive deeper into these discussions in order to get a clearer view of what is happening and broaden one ’s horizons. To begin with, the fact that humans can know more about other countries all around the world can be seen as a demerit. By being exposed to what is happening in various lands of our planet, one can find out shocking things. For example, one might realize there is inequality in many areas. This might cause depressing feelings. What is more, by watching the news some expand their knowledge about frightening regimes in some lands. For instance, the people might see that there is capital punishment or no freedom of speech in some countries. The associations with death or the ways how people are punished for expressing their thoughts freely might frighten individuals, especially children. Thus, some may start having mental problems and need to consult a phychologist, which probably is no that desired in most cases. On the other hand, there is a range of benefits that the ability to see, how other humans live in a variety of locations in the world, offers. Firstly, by getting insight on the lifestyles of people in other countries, a person gets to know a multitude of diverse cultures. One merit of this is that the cultural culturage heritage of many nations contains different kinds of music, dances and artworks. The latter can contribute to enriching one ’s free time by being interesting to be investigated in this time. Furthermore, cultures most times have wise philosophies, which can help to live people better life. To exemplify, some wise thoughts from Confucius can make a person more moral and enjoy his daily experiences more. On the basis of the aforementioned points, it is feasible to draw the conclusion that the viewpoints, neglecting and approving the benefits of the enhanced possibilities to get to know what is going on in countries around the world better, are justified with reasonable arguments. However, it should be taken into account that one can opt for what he wants to know about other lands, therefore, can smartly avoid negatively affecting information. Hence, it is definitely possible to view this positively, if approached with caution.