Some people believe that there should be a gap year after finishing high school (secondary school) and before starting university. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is argued that students should take a year break before enrolling on their tertiary education. I completely agree with the statement the fact that it helps pupils to get into some job and gives them an opportunity to find out their passion. Firstly, in this time, a gap they can join a company for work which gives them extra income which they can use for paying their tuition fees at university. Also, this experience enhances them to understand what an employer expects from their employees where they improve their skills during the learning stages in college. For instance,recent research stated that 25 per cent of students work themselves to cope with their fees without being reliant on their parents. Moreover, this period is a chance for the student to do something they wish to do based on their passion. Many students are not able to find their passion nowadays and drop out the university before completing. Hence this time gap allows finding what they want to do and based on that they can choose their professional courses. For example, personally, I know a friend who took a one-year break after his secondary education and did some photography and found that he has a skill in it. So he chose to study photography course and enhance his skills. Now is a famous photographer in our region and owns his own company. In conclusion, taking a break help pupil to do temporary job to save some money for their future education and find some time to recognise their skill. Hence parents should allow their offspring to have a break for themselves.