As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalisation will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current era, populations are slowly becoming similar due to the growth of mass communication and transport, which is known as globalisation. Some people claim that this phenomenon might have an inevitable negative impact on populations by causing the loss of cultural identity and I personally agree with this statement. This essay will discuss my point of view and why I envision that the current generations should stop this problem from spreading. Firstly, globalisation means that we currently notice important similarities among people, such as common fashion trends, movies or TV commercials, and international food similarities all around the world. That leads to multiple problems including the loss of cultural integrity and background, which can be inevitable,unfortunately. For example, the youth in my native country, Morocco, has little to no clue about Moroccan history and heritage, due to the influence done by social media and the need to follow western trends. Thus, it is crucial to fight against this issue by putting forward cultural identity. Secondly, there are other problems that this phenomenon causes. One of them would be the loss of uniqueness of each ethnicity. In other words, by following foreign tendencies, societies are seeking external validation, therefore, losing gradually their sense of contentment, which makes them always eager to know what's happening in other parts of the world and what's becoming popular. To illustrate, the current generations, especially the youth, are following the same tendencies as their fellows in other parts of the world, which makes them all similar, and consequently, they give up on their sense of uniqueness. To summarize, I personally think that globalisation is inevitably making all societies similar, however, the population needs to fight against this phenomenon and stop it from spreading to try to minimize the damage that could be done, such as the waste of cultural identity and the uniqueness of each ethnicity.