Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children are often encouraged to read; however, there is a debate regarding the kind of books that are best for them. Should offspring only read for educational purposes or should they also read for fun? In my opinion, both categories of books are equally important for offspring’s development. One of the principal reasons why some people prefer that their offspring read solely academic literature is because they believe that, by doing so, offspring will further their educational outcomes. Such parents may believe that their children will learn more by reading books on school subjects, rather than something they are personally interested in. Fiction books, therefore, may be seen as a waste of time. However, I do not agree with this point of view and believe that check read for enjoyment can help children develop useful social and academic skills. When people read fiction for example, sci-fi or detective stories — they gain a deeper insight into human nature. These books allow them to live vicariously through characters and experience situations that might be very different to their real lives, thus increasing their understanding of their own identity as well as empathy for the emotions and desires of others. These social skills will be highly valuable in their future and should not be ignored. Apart from the clear social benefits, fiction books also have educational value. Children who read for fun are likely to spend more time reading than those who only read to study. By reading more, they expand their vocabulary, improve their spelling, and become faster readers. All these skills can help them achieve better results in their education. In conclusion, I firmly believe that reading for enjoyment is as important for children ’s future as reading academic books. Not only can fiction books help children become more socially aware, but such books also allow them to improve skills that will further their educational achievements.