Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Today, the extinction of multiple animal and plant species has become a major concern. However, there are many who think there are more concerning matters we have to care about first, namely global warming, air pollution in major cities and a plethora of other issues. I side with the latter group and believe there are more important problems to solve. In the modern world, a day does not go by without mentioning Global warming, the rise of sea levels and the meltdown of arctic glaciers in the news. Because of the greenhouse effect and cars and factories releasing toxins into the air, many places in the world, such as Europe, are now facing seasonal heat waves never seen before. Consequently, many citizens of this continent can not work and might get killed because of the weather. Furthermore, since the icebergs are melting down, multiple counties and islands are at risk of sinking into the ocean. There is no doubt that these issues should be solved without any hesitation as our survival depends on them. On the other hand, humans have been directly contributing to the extinction of all animal and plant species, for instance, the Polar bear and the Chinese panda. The consequences can be severe, mainly because of the effects on the food chain. Take Rats as an example. Since many snakes use them as their primary source of energy, their extinction will shorten the food supply for the snakes. The same can be said for plants, too, as they play an important role in the food chain. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that by reducing Global warming, we would directly help other species, too, since climate change is affecting them the most. In conclusion, due to human interference with the natural flow of the ecosystem, we have been facing environmental issues for a long time now. Subsequently, we face many challenges right now. Although the problem of plant and animal extinction has significant importance, I think we need to narrow our focus to other problems.