In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

Some people argue that books and newspapers will be free due to their availability on the internet. In my view, though printed commercial documents such as newspapers and books may disappear for some individuals in the future, I am deeply convinced that they will still be available for a certain amount of money. In this essay, firstly, I will discuss the essential role of money in the books and newspapers industries and, secondly I will discuss the impact of the habits and beliefs of readers in these industries. To begin with, the money coming from customers is essential for newspaper companies to survive and offer good quality content. It is universally acknowledged that there is more and more free content on the internet. However, readers have noticed that free contents are not as qualitative as traditional commercial papers are. For instance, according to a French survey, 60% of consumers would rather purchase the paper version of a newspaper rather than read a free contents paper. In addition, buying a book or a newspaper contributes to supporting sectors that are facing economic troubles. Papers industries have got some issues concerning their economic sustainability. As commercial providers' contents are at the centre of several Western countries, plenty of people are going to support these industries by buying their information instead of choosing another way to get information. Furthermore, there are still individuals who don't appreciate reading papers online and are still sticking with the paper version. According to an Australian survey, 20% of book readers have never bought a book online. To sum up, I am truly convinced that free online contents are very popular and the trend will increase in the future. However, plenty of people prefer to buy the paper version of a newspaper or of a book due to the quality of the content, their beliefs and habits.