Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree

It is considered by some individuals that the rate of increase in the usage of computing devices and smartphones by the youth as a means of communication is detrimental to their writing and reading abilities. In my opinion, I completely agree with this because these devices have applications that can read and write for people and make them lose existing skills from not writing regularly. One major drawback the use of computers and smart devices has on the reading and writing skills of young adults is the replacement it offers them through the use of various applications making them lazy to learn. By this I mean, instead of writing and reading by themselves, they can rely on their smart gadgets to read out texts and passages for them making them lose out on learning the spelling of words and sentence structure. This can also apply to writing as there are applications that translate spoken words to text, these applications thereby take off the responsibility of learning how to write away from people. For example, there is an app on google that can translate voices to written words without the actual act of typing or writing. Another effect is the loss of valuable reading and writing skills that occurs over the period of time from the disuse of the existing skills these young people had. In other words, young people who knew how to read and write will lose some or all their skills because they do not use them regularly. This is because what one does not utilise regularly cannot witness any significant improvement. For instance, most adolescents will forget how to spell words they have not written or read over a period of time. In conclusion, I believe the rise in the utilisation of computing gadgets and mobile devices has an undesirable effect on the reading and writing skills of adolescents because it makes them lazy and leads to the loss of their existing skills.