More and more plastic waste is polluting the world’s cities, countryside and oceans. What problems does this cause? What measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, most items we consume are made from plastic or have unnecessary plastic packaging. Every day, we consume countless tonnes of trash, like straws, containers and plastic bags. They are thrown in the garbage and eventually end up in our environment. This essay will examine the harm caused by plastic waste and propose ways to reduce waste and solve the problem. To begin with, we must examine why plastic waste is such a complex problem. Plastic is non-biogedradable. That means that, unlike paper, wood, cotton or other organic materials, it does not break down and decompose into harmless particles. Plastic is made from petrochemicals and does not decompose: instead, it takes decades to break down. When it does, it becomes microscopic particles of plastic that can enter the soil and the water., eventually entering the bloodstream of humans and animals. Microplastic toxicity has been linked to cancer, neurodevelopmental disorders and congenital disabilities. To curb this disaster, every person, every community and every nation needs to work together to solve the problem. Firstly, we need to reduce plastic consumption by legislating bans on unnecessary plastic production. Large corporations and businesses must be financially penalised for excessive production and rewarded for eco-friendly alternatives to reduce plastic production. The next step is influencing the population to make eco-friendly choices and only purchase plastic -free items. They need to be subsidised and promoted as an ethical choice. Lastly, we need to recycle our plastic, so it does not pollute the environment. Recycling systems need to be free and easily accessible to everyone. In summation, this situation is dire, and the problem could have detrimental effects on the future of humanity. If we do not solve the problem, we could experience catastrophic environmental collapse. Therefore, by addressing the issue with a multi-level strategy, starting with serious commitments from our nation's leaders, we can stem the tide of plastic pollution and save the planet.