It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been argued by some people that some individuals are gifted instinctively, while others believe that anyone can become a professional athlete or musician after receiving training. This essay will analyse arguments from both sides before providing my personal opinion. On the one hand, it is reasonable to think that some children are talented since their talents can be shown before having access to related training. For instance, there are many famous basketball players or singers, whose instincts in some particular subjects, such as being good at shooting a basketball or singing with correct tones and a beautiful voice have been reflected when they were very little. Such impeccable talents are found by their parents or experts working in related industries like coaches or other singers, which is the main reason for these people to make achievements in their professional careers. Therefore, the opinion that some of us are gifted since they born can be supported. On the other hand, people who think most children can have successful careers in sports or music industries by being taught would provide the following reason. Nowadays, the training processes in many professional areas have become very mature and sophisticated, which can help a normal child make great improvements in certain areas. Badminton training in China, for example, provides detailed plans for improving every technique that a badminton player will adopt in a match as well as various ways to estimate if a trainee has improved or not. After experiencing such an arduous process of training, many normal Chinese children have become well-known badminton players. In conclusion, although it is true that some children's talents can be found at a young age, we cannot deny that today's training can provide normal children with a chance to achieve success in the sports and music industries. In my opinion, being perseverant and following training seriously is the primary contributor to a child becoming successful in the areas of sports and music, which I believe is more important than being talented.