In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any in-person interaction with others. Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With all the technological advancements that occur in the world, one of the major questions being discussed is that if society will arrive at a point where all social interaction such as communication, shopping, and working will become completely online, making real-world interaction obselete in all of its forms. This essay will attempt to demonstrate the possible advantages and disadvantages to this development. With all the current innovations and discoveries happening in the field of technology, it seems that relying entirely on the internet to live is no longer a science fiction fantasy. Nowadays, many people use Amazon to buy the things they like. They use Uber Eats to order their food and pay with the money they made by working remotely. If they get bored, they call their close ones through Facetime. This means that living by solely depending on the internet is possible to some extent and preferred by some people. However, the fact that one can stay at home forever and only use the internet does not mean that it is a bright future that must be widely achieved over the next century. For instance, human beings are social animals and need regular interaction with others. No matter how easy it is to call a friend, seeing them in person always has more impact on our mental health. In addition, the small conversations that are made with strangers, the act of helping a colleague at work, and shopping with a family member can have positive effects on one's mood. According to most studies, staying at home and looking at a screen for long periods of time can increase the chances of depression and insomnia. That is because loneliness develops from lack of interaction, which leads to depression and excessive amounts of time spent on a screen disturb the regular sleep cycle. To conclude, in a seemingly advanced world, the notion of total reliance on the internet may have some benefits. However, the disadvantages are far more concerning, hinting at a possible lonely and dystopian world where no actual interaction takes place.