Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed by many people that computer usage in the day-to-day lives of our children has more banes than boons. In my opinion, it has more benefits depending on how it is being used. On one hand, whether you agree or disagree, owing to digital transformation, the computer has become an integral part of human life, irrespective of the individual's occupation. When utilized in the right direction with proper guidance, it has enormous benefits as it would help expedite learning. For instance, when my father was in school, for him to learn anything outside the academic curriculum, he had to walk at least 10 kilometres to go to the library and research the catalogue to identify which book has the right source of information. Whereas, in our generation gathering information is the easiest thing. With the computer in hand, all you have got to do is just browse through the internet. Hence, it is quite fast without having to go through the pain of research. Other significant benefits include less usage of paper, easy storage and retrieval of all of the data and the ability to virtually connect with people. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages that potentially could lead to a serious impact on the growth and behaviour of young people if not handled with proper caution and guidance. There are a lot of vulnerable things in the internet world. For example, I have personally seen one of my uncle's children, who got addicted to online gambling. Fortunately, they were able to identify and send him to community centres to revive the addiction. However, I infer that this was due to a lack of proper parental guidance but luckily found out in the early stage. To conclude, I strongly feel that the positive aspects outweigh the drawbacks when additional factors are considered as stated above.