Community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extent do you agree.

It is opined that public service should be incorporated into the secondary school syllabus. I completely agreed that community service will benefit both the students and society in the long run. There are myriad of reasons an unpaid service as part of the school curriculum is beneficial to the future of a country. Firstly, it prepares students to learn how to become responsible in society. In order words, they get used to passionately contributing to the growth of their environment when they participate in activities like cleaning, mowing grasses etc. Secondly, they will learn to get things done in teamwork, and this prepares them ahead for future challenges, especially during their career. A survey by the Middle-east workplace commission states, professionals who attended unpaid services during their time in college, have more confidence to relate with colleagues in their career compared to their counterparts who did not participate in this. Furthermore, community services can help build bonds among inhabitants in society. That is, social relation grows between the unpaid workers and the beneficiaries in an environment due to these free services rendered by other citizens. This further establishes love among citizens which in turn makes a peaceful country. Additionally, environmental maintenance could be achieved when there is a shortage of workers for these types of services due to low pay. This is common in African schools, where students were given cutlasses and hoes to cut the grass around the school environment. In summary, adding unpaid public service to students ' academic calendars will not only bolster their confidence to succeed in life but will also help the government to achieve a stable and peaceful society.