To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

It is proposed that consuming edible insect products helps support the demands for food sources of the growing population. However, some people contend that eating these items is not only unhealthy but also that harvesting them can have a negative effect on our ecosystem. Eating insects, like eating other foods, necessitates careful consideration. In this essay, we will discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages of eating these. One of the major benefits of eating insect products is their nutritional value. They are a great source of iron, rich in protein, and low in carbohydrates. Moreover, in a research study done, it was found that consuming insect products, such as grasshoppers, weaver ants, and ladybugs, has commendable benefits for people suffering from cancer. It was shown in a recent survey that 10 out of 15 people benefited from its anti-oxidant and cancer-fighting properties. The number of nutrients and health benefits we receive from eating these products makes them a viable substitute for animal and poultry products. However, although there are considerable nutritional gains from eating these small creatures, there are also undeniable safety hazards and environmental factors that we have to consider. Firstly, there are many different kinds of bacteria that can be found in insects, such as E. coli and Campylobacter, which can harm the human body and can lead to fatal diseases. Secondly, the massive harvest of these insects can be detrimental to our ecosystem as they are one of the important components of the food chain. Therefore, their nutritional benefits should be weighed against the drawbacks. In conclusion, there are undoubtedly health benefits we can gain from eating insects, like the effects it has on cancer patients. However, one should also take into consideration the drawbacks, like the effects it has on our environment and the possibility of certain diseases.