We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust the journalist. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

By watching TV, reading newspapers and surfing the Internet, we can always learn something new from the news. However, some people believe that we should not trust journalists completely. I agree with that and I also think that a professional journalist should report only true facts and be responsible to convey the correct information to the public. First of all, people tend to view all news as facts which could lead to some misunderstanding. The authority or organizations possibly convey wrong information to the people due to political reasons or personal benefit. This phenomenon can be seen especially in a dictatorship. Take North Korea for instance, the North Koreans can only get access to the messengers that their dominant leader wants to promote. During the Covid-19 pandemic, their authorities hid the truth and spread incorrect messages which misguide the people in the country. In addition, journalists are integral to convey the correct information. They have to be persistent and determined. For example, BBC, a broadcasting corporation that has a good reputation because it is always strict to confirm the reality of the information before reporting it. Moreover, it has persistence to reveal scandals in the anti-extradition bills in Hong Kong even if it may result in revenge from the Chinese government. Thanks to their trying and determination, the world can be aware of the truth. In conclusion, it is necessary and essential for individuals to be sceptical of the messages received from the media to prevent them from being misguided. As for a successful journalist, having the responsibility of revealing confirmed news is important.