We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Our daily lives are filled with all kinds of advertising, which affects us in many ways. As far as I am concerned, I opine it brings more disadvantages than benefits to our lives. In the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss my viewpoints on it. First of all, many companies try to promote their products by making phone calls, giving out pamphlets, making a gimmick with a big logo or having commercials on TV. These kinds of approach just deliver information randomly which not only could waste resource but also be inefficient. Take gimmicks for example, most of them are cheap and have low quality. Consequently, the majority of people throw them away after receiving them. For instance, on the exhibitions, the commercial organizations tend to spend efforts on making some small things to attract attendees. However, based on my experience, these gimmicks will be viewed as trash or useless things. These traditional advertising methods should be reconsidered or transformed to prevent leading to environmental issues. With new technology developed, there are some advanced ways to encourage people to buy products, like Internet marketing. This new strategies can target the audience with accuracy and convey the information which interests customers. Nevertheless, the privacy and personal information would be sacrificed because it needs to supervise consumers’ smart phones and the footprints on social media and the Internet. In conclusion, conventional promoting methods are lack of efficiency and pollute the environment, and digital marketing is considered to be not ethical and leads to privacy aggression. As a result, being surrounded in these types of advertising, it could affect our lives negatively.