Some childern spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the past few decades, technology is so much evolved that it is almost impossible to make track of it. Particularly in the smartphone industry, technology has become absolute in just a few months. Now smartphones are gadgets and every child believes he should have one and once you have something then you will spend time with it. In my opinion, children should spend less and less time on smartphones because spending more time with them will affect their lifestyle and social upbringing. First of all, When children are spending more time on their phones it means they are not interacting with others and do not perform any physical activity like exercise. This lack of physical activity will affect their health and that eventually decreases the productivity of their brains because of that they will be less responsive and their minds only communicate in certain directions. Secondly, Children spending long hours on their phones will not have very active social circles or long lists of friends and whatever social life they have will only be through their smartphones. Although, The main objective of social circles and friends is to interact with each other, and share knowledge and ideas so that they can benefit from each other's experiences but once you are spending more and more time on phones then all of the above will have vanished. On the other hand, some people also argue that spending more time on phones will be beneficial for children in future because it will give them a technological edge over others and they will be more expert in using computers and smartphones which can be helpful in their education but all of these are assumption and there is not a single evidence that can support that argument. For example, parents never know that child who is spending too much time on the phone is using it for educational purposes or is just playing games and chatting with friends and doing other unproductive activities. In conclusion, Nowadays children are spending more time on smartphones but it will not be beneficial for them if all or a major portion of that time is going towards unproductive activities and if every single minute spends on smartphones is only for productive or educational activities still will affect their health and social life. So in my opinion, parents should divide and monitor the time their children are spending on smartphones.