In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case. Is it a positive or negative development

Nowadays, attires worn in the western world have replaced our indigenous dresses. This is caused by the lack of education on cultural values and the low prices of these clothes. I also believe that this is a negative development as valuable traditions are lost. There are some reasons for the increase in wearing western clothes. One of them is the knowledge deficit on the importance of traditional attires. In other words, when individuals are not educated on the types of traditional outfits they have, they will end up sticking to only the westernised dresses they see. For example, the aso-oke in Nigeria can be worn for weddings instead of the English suit attire. Furthermore, the cheap prices of western clothes make them more attractive and pocket-friendly. Most of the items of clothing worn in the west are cheaper when compared to their native alternatives. I consider the increase wearing of western clothes a negative development because it leads to the loss of useful elements of culture. By this I mean after a period of not wearing traditional outfits, this part of culture begins to diminish as people who are keepers of tradition die without any means of accessing this information. For instance, traditional outfits such as adire might go into extinction as the younger ones are not being taught how to produce them. In conclusion, jeans, suits and other clothes of the west are replacing our local fabrics because of inadequate knowledge and their lower prices. I believe this is a negative development because it leads to the loss of an essential part of the culture.