Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages of spending money on space exploration?

A big part of the taxes that residents pay goes to observation space every year. This essay will suggest that a new opportunity for technological innovation and protection of the Earth from space are the biggest advantages of this, but the high cost and human health risk are the primary disadvantages. The most significant benefits of exploring the cosmos are the possibility of creating new technologies that make life easier and finding a way to protect the Earth. For example, space exploration has already opened satellites that provide internet and communication by phone, consequently, further study might design better technology. Additionally, studying asteroids and comets can improve the ability to detect when they pose a danger to the Earth, and then repel the threat. Despite these strengths, the opportunity cost of investigating the universe is high. In other words, there is a risk of not gaining sufficient technological advantages, which could result in a significant waste of money. Therefore, instead of taking these risks, the government could allocate these funds toward the development of cities and benefits for citizens. Also, acquiring knowledge about galaxies requires space travel by astronauts, which could lead to numerous risks and potential health problems. For instance, according to recent research, while some astronauts had psychological issues, others faced more serious health issues such as weakening immune system and bone density loss. In conclusion, the discovery of the universe can be advantageous if it allows scientists to construct new machinery that will ease the lives of people and develop strategies to make the Earth safe from external dangers. However, the government should not ignore the quality of life and consider the wellness of astronauts.