Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, concern about climate change is becoming one of the most pressing matters in our world. Although there are numerous reasons why this is occurring, there are also many actions that can be taken in order to solve the rising problem. Firstly, several causes contribute to our society's greenhouse emissions and people's new living standards are some of the most alarming ones. Individuals are used to careless lifestyles, which are bringing tremendous drawbacks to biodiversity. New eating habits, for instance, now require the destruction of marine environments which greatly alters the food chain. Additionally, modern cities' new transportation system might have greatly contributed to citizens' daily commuting, however, it has also risen carbon dioxide emissions to dangerous levels, irreversibly damaging our environment. For example, industrialised nations have each day, more and more buses and electric trains out on the streets to meet people's demand, which has doubled air pollution in the past couple of years. However, there are potential solutions that governments and society could consider in order to prevent further damage. Firstly, authorities could promote initiatives to re-educate citizens on how to create better environmental-friendly habits. For example, there could be commercials that broadcasted regularly teaching youngsters how to save water and reduce everyday pollution. Secondly, if governments were to risen the investment in better transportation networks that use renewable energies instead of oil fuels, there could be a cut in such high greenhouse emissions per vehicle. Trams, for instance, are known to use half the energy that trains use, which could be solely fuelled by solar. To conclude, even though influencing society's lifestyle as well as changing traditional transportation networks might prove hard to accomplish, authorities and individuals can work together in order to tackle the global warming problem. Not only creating awareness among people can decrease our carbon footprint but also investing in renewables to update the transportation system could help to mitigate further damage to our world.