The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although the practice of penalizing students physically is reduced but it is said that it should be used to discipline them. I disagree with this, as it is not in line with human rights and hitting students could cause long-term side effects on their mental health. Firstly, in schools it is the responsibility of the teachers to bring out the best in their students and beating them might cause them to become less attentive and bunk the school at times. There are different choices to bring discipline to school -going children like making them understand their bad conduct and motivating them to concentrate on their studies. For instance, when children behave in a notorious manner in a lecture rather than punishing them, they should be given a responsibility where their notoriousness can be employed. Furthermore, in situations where children are being physically abused, it may have a negative impact on their psychological health as they are in the developing stage. In such cases, younger ones may have traumatic responses where they could face nightmares or can take extreme steps of mass shootings on school premises. An example of this is of a country where a student was hit by his educator and was bullied by his fellow classmates, in response to this incident he used a rifle for firing in school which led to the death of 25 children. In conclusion, students enrol in school for getting educated and to have a prosperous future but corporal punishments can cause them to divert from their studies and take unwarranted decisions. So, it is necessary, to employ different methods to discipline the students and make them increase their involvement in education.