Some people say that communication by using computers and phones will have side effects on young people’s writing and reading skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For some people, that communication by using electronic devices is seen as a negative thing which has detrimental impacts on youngsters’ writing and reading skills. From my perspective, I agree with the idea. To begin with, it is no deniable that technology has become a crucial part of our daily lives. Therefore, using virtual applications for a small chat is a popular choice amongst younger generations. Despite the way it brings about convenience, it also turns out loss of vocabulary and grammar. For instance, if a friend tells me a funny thing face to face, I will definitely say that it is so funny and give her my thoughts, while I only send ‘lol’ when it happens online. When I use a phone or computer to chat with friends, I always feel tired and troublesome to type words, and in that case, I always choose to type as short as I can. As a consequence, I forgot how to write some words, even in my mother language, when I used a pen to write a letter on paper. Over-reliance on mobile phones leads to youngsters losing their ability to spell correct words and use proper grammar. On the other hand, an increasing number of people are becoming more willing to make friends on social media today. And in this situation, I guess people prefer to share music and funny video clips with their friends rather than private affairs. In addition, using stickers to express their feelings and attitudes is a prevailing trend in young people ’s world. Therefore, using more stickers means there are fewer words in communication, and I regard it as one of the significant reasons why young people are losing their writing and reading skills. In conclusion, high technology gives numerous benefits to our lives, nevertheless, there are conspicuous side effects to youngsters’ literacy ability, such as loss of vocabulary and grammar, wrong spellings, and surficial content of the communication. Thus, I appeal that people should give priority to their interpersonal relationships and have more face-to-face communication.