Some people think that for individuals, planning for future is a waste of time. It is more important for individuals to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold the view that planning in the long term is useless and fruitless. Moreover, they argue that it is essential to concentrate on today’s life and current events. I am inclined to disagree with this statement because it is much easier to accomplish goals if there is a plan for achieving them. So, the notions will be examined in the essay. On the one hand, it is true that it is vital to have the ability to be happy in the present moment. For example, social research found that people who behave as if there is no tomorrow felt happier and experienced less stress in comparison to those who tend to think in the long term. Therefore, it still might be beneficial to focus on the present and think in the short term. On the other hand, individuals who schedule and plan their daily routine and their future steps could achieve more in long run and hence they become more successful in all regards in the future. For example, a study has shown that people who have learnt to implement time management techniques and planners in their life for gaining their long-run goals are more productive by at least 20% as opposed to those who plan nothing. Consequently, planning definitely has proven to be advantageous for the foreseeable future. In conclusion, even though being in the present moment is beneficial to some extent, time management and concentration on the future pays off in long run. Besides, they say that no planning is planning for failure.