Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Alternative medicines have become more common as many people prefer herbalists rather than medical professionals to treat illnesses. In my opinion, this is a negative development and I will discuss it more. There are various reasons why I believe alternative treatments are disadvantageous and even may be dangerous. First, there are no regulations by FDA for alternative medicines. these methods are not scientifically proven as minimal research have accomplished and there is no reliable evidence which would show the results of such treatments would be useful in order to cure disease. For example, herbs and oils which are popular to reduce back pain may help someone in the long term and may not be effective at all. On the other hand, Traditional medicines are produced with high-tech tools and several have experimented one much more samples by many scientists in order to achieve reliable results to help much more patients. In addition to the explanation described above, alternative treatments could put a person who suffers from more serious diseases like cancer in more danger. People should trust their doctors and do their procedures step by step instead of trusting someone who has not experienced proper training in medical science and uses oil and leaves to treat people with serious problems. if cancer patients need instant surgery to remove the tumour and then choose to ignore the professional doctor’s decision and try to drink herbal tea or oil massage by a spiritual massage therapist, in this case, that choice will lead them to death. In conclusion, while people are increasingly using alternative medicines rather than medical doctors with higher educational qualifications, I accept it as a negative development for several reasons that I mentioned in this essay.