Inspite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the different innovations in farming, a number of the world’s populace still go without food. The cause of this could be attributed to the fact that these innovations are capital-intensive. For instance, farmers invest a lot of money in hiring different machinery that would help them produce crops at a large scale thereby making food products available but non-affordable for the masses. A major approach that could proffer a solution to this is the involvement of the government to invest in merchandised farming. This aims at reducing the capital invested so farm products would be available and also affordable. For example, a farmers' initiative sponsored by the government could be set up where different machinery like tractors, ploughs and also crop enhancers like fertilizers would be made available for free or at a subsidized rate as this would greatly reduce the cost of production. In addition, awareness should be created for more people to still go into farming at least on a smaller scale, to cultivate for immediate family consumption as this would help reduce starvation. In conclusion, innovations in farming come at the expense of cost, therefore any form of subsidy offered by the government would greatly benefit the masses.