many processed food and ready-meals contain preservatives and chemicals. do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, there has been an increase in the usage of ready-to-consume meals containing chemical substances. This essay believes that the benefits of this trend regarding extended food lifespan and convenience outweigh its drawback of health concerns. One significant advantage of using preservatives in processed food is that they can extend the expiry date of food, which is advantageous to both retailers and customers. To clarify, chemicals used in the food industry can help prevent the harmful bacterium from making food spoil quickly, therefore ensuring that not only do the products last longer on the shelves, but they also remain high-quality. As a result, the unsold products offer lower storage costs for retailers and savings for customers buying them. Another vital merit of preservatives and chemicals in processed food is how convenient they are to certain people. Simply put, with minimal preparation to cook and the availability in every corner of the city, these products have offered a more practical choice in terms of daily meals for those occupied with hectic schedules or having a busy lifestyle compared to the traditional way of cooking. For example, instant noodle only takes 2-3 minutes to cook while conventional one takes individuals even 30 minutes to prepare and cook. Thus, this mentioned point has made ready-meal an effective solution in modern life. However, it is essential to consider the impact of processed food on human well-being. To be specific, it is thought that the artificial additives put in these products which contain harmful substances can lead to foodborne illnesses such as allergies and asthma, making customers wary about the consequences when they consume them. This point has credibility but it is a misunderstanding as preservatives’ function is always to preserve the nutritional value and reduce spoilage, solidifying the safety of preservative usage in processed food. In conclusion, although processed food containing preservatives and chemicals may pose health risks, this setback is far outweighed by the beneficial aspects with regard to increased shelf life and usefulness. Ultimately, the process of producing ready-meals needs stricter checking to meet the safety standard.