These days older people who have retired often choose to spend money on them. For example on holiday, rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development

Nowadays, it is common practice for retirees to use all their funds for enjoyment instead of saving and leaving and leaving an inheritance for their offspring. I think this is a positive development because it allows elderly people to enjoy the reward of their labour and also instils the habit of hard work in young folks. One reason why the aged should expend money on things that will benefit them is to allow for the enjoyment of all the hard work they have done earlier in life. In other words, most individuals do not have time for holidays during their active work years, so all the monies saved from these long years of work should be spent on holidays, trips and other activities that bring happiness to them when they retire. For example, old people going on holidays will keep them busy and further improve their quality of life. Another plus point why elderly ones should use their pension for enjoyment is because it serves as a means of encouragement to young people to imbibe the habit of hard work. This form of enjoyment in old age becomes a motivation for those who are young and still in active service to enable them to put in their best at work. As holidays and travelling around the world become a gratification to those who work and save money in their early years. For instance, these holidays reinforce the positive value of hard work in the youth. In conclusion, I think the elderly should spend money on things that make them happy instead of setting the finances aside for children. This is because the enjoyment is a reward for their Labour and it also encourages young people to work hard.