Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others, however, believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that undergraduates are encouraged to choose their favourite subjects to study. In my opinion, however, it would be more beneficial if they choose majors that are helpful for them after their graduation. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people believe that learners at institutions should choose what to learn depending on their preferences. The first reason is that this choice allows students to unlock their potential. It is widely acknowledged that students only perform well if they are given the choice to learn what they enjoy. Moreover, while they are spending time researching, they might come up with something extraordinary. For instance, students whose majors are music may accidentally write breathtaking melodies using music theories and techniques that they obtain from their lessons. The second reason to support this opinion is that the rate of those who drop out of school will be declined. To be more specific, learners go to class to do something they love. What is more, they are willing to devote their time and efforts to learn. Hence, they are exhilarated by the knowledge and they will be more eager to learning. On the other hand, I would argue that studying science -and-technology-based subjects would be of use for students ’ future. Firstly, this knowledge will help them to find a stable job with a high income after they graduate. For example, the demand for the workforce in computer science in Vietnam is increasing rapidly. Specifically, more companies are trying to recruit candidates who are well-qualified in this sector and offer good salaries starting from approximately $1000. For that reason, there will be a high chance for them to be employed after graduating. Secondly, if students don’t study science subjects, there will be an imbalance in the job market. If too many people follow their dream jobs, there will be fewer workers who take over jobs related to science and technology. As a consequence, there will be a shortage of staff required for this sector. In conclusion, even though students might have the option for their favourite disciplines. I personally believe that they should focus on science and technology for their future.