Some people think that couples should live together before getting married to start knowing each other better and see if they are compatible. Others say that because of this tendency people become immoral and only deep emotional attachment makes a durable alliance. What is your opinion?

As the family is the most important unit of society, the strong bond between its members, especially partners, is of great importance. Accordingly, many believe that moving together before marriage leads to a more successful married life since couples get to know each other’s positive and negative habits. While, the rest think that it is not a good idea since it may increase immorality. I support the idea that relationships before official marriage have more positive effects than onesnegative ones negative. Firstly, I strongly believe that such steps prevent a great number of quarrels and divorces. In this,stage couples start knowing each other on a closer, more personal level when they live together and will be reassured about a lifelong commitment. During this time they can find out the strong and weak points of their husband or wife-to-be and decide if the weak points will not disappoint them in future and will not lead to emotional detachment. For example, according to a public survey, 20 per cent of Americans decided to give up their relationship in the pre-marriage step when they realised the person they were dating was not the one they expected. Secondly, living together for a while helps couples to make sure they can lead a family life together from a financial point of view. It is crystal clear that financial problems are one of the most important contributing factors to unsuccessful relationships. For instance, based on Russian statistics, a quarter of families’ breakdowns occur due to economic disagreements. Hence the experience of sharing financial responsibilities can prevent further disagreements. To sum up, although some may consider cohabitation immoral, I think it is a crucial part of couples’ life as it can prevent future failures in fruitful and warm relationships between husbands and wives who have one of the most important roles in society as future fathers and mothers.