Some people who have been successful in society don't attribute their success to the theoritical knowledge they learned from their university. Do you agree or disagree that theoretical knowledge is not as valuable as expected?

It seems that many people have achieved career success without any experience in completing a university education. This may be true in some cases, but I do not agree with the notion that the knowledge gained in university is of little value to one's career achievement. By learning basic theories people can gain an insight into the concepts and principles of their favourite subjects, which may actually pave the way for their career success. Jobs today have become specialised and people who have an in-depth knowledge of their professions can solve complex problems and gain a competitive edge over their peers. For example, a psychiatrist cannot determine the best treatment, unless he or she has a deep understanding of all theories about mental disorders. He or she can even earn a reputation for deep analysis of some complex mental health problems, such as depression, and publish relevant papers to share their findings. This kind of success cannot be attained by intuition or luck. Another reason is that knowledge is a source of innovation. Theories make it possible for people to broaden their minds and develop creative solutions to problems, which help them achieve fame and wealth. For instance, an engineer who has multidisciplinary knowledge in material science and mechanics can design an engine which can perform well in freezing conditions, and earn a lot from this innovation. By comparison, a technician who is trained to just repair an engine cannot make this technological breakthrough as he or she has not attended university to learn theories about the impacts of different metals and materials on the functioning of engines. On the other hand, sometimes, theoretical knowledge should not be overvalued. If students apply theories blindly, they will find that theories may not achieve the expected outcomes. One classic example is the application of teamwork as a management practice, which is touted as efficacious by professors of the business school, but sometimes, group decision-making can undermine a company's productivity if a team fails to reach a consensus promptly in dealing with emergencies. In conclusion, theoretical knowledge, if applied correctly, benefits people in their careers.