In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Shopping was considered a daily household chore by the old generation, whereas a majority in modern society is taking it as a leisure activity. In my opinion, I partially agree with the aforementioned statement. This essay will, therefore, go into further insights into the consequences of this modification in shopping purposes, and explain why, before coming to a reasoned conclusion. First and foremost, it was obviously a challenge for society in the past several years ago, when people had to spend spent earnings in the most deliberate way to keep family total expenditures, not beyond the limited budget but ensure to maintain the basic living standards. The top priority had to be for food and living necessities, the second part went to savings and investment, and then the spare amount of the pool was prioritized for education. As a matter of fact, people were serious while making any purchasing decision back then. On the contrary way, there is a strong belief in current society that purchasing activity is one of the ways to relax and get rid of stress and pressure after a long day working. Getting strong support from the development of technology, shopping now is easy just by a mouse click through e-commerce platforms besides the traditional ones at stores. Along with that, a wide range of goods including foods, clothes, cosmetics or even high-tech products, pricing varies from affordable to luxury brands. As a matter of fact, shopping easily cost people a hundred thousand up to a hundred million over their monthly income, regardless of their background or family which is either in urgent need of standing or a high-class position. Moreover, thousand of constant campaigns from the sellers run through social platforms in order to stimulate people to buy things which they call “me time” or “enjoy your young and fabulous”. People, especially younger put savings and investment as the lowest priority after spending money on shopping. This is to say, modern people are increasing awareness of respecting and rewarding themselves for their hard work, under pushing from thousand of deadlines and spending money for shopping is just an easy way to shake off all the stress they are facing and dealing with on daily basis. To sum up, I personally think that given some people abusing shopping over all others necessary, this is definitely a negative trend in society. However, people who know are thoughtful and conservative while spending money for shopping with purpose and satisfy their appropriate favours, this is to promote society's growth constantly and healthily.