Write about the following topic. Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been noticed that the leisure activities and time spent on this have plunged in recent decades. I believe that addiction to digital gadgets and the desire to acquire money-orientated opulence are the main reasons for this, while the reduction in physical activities and loss of workplace productivity are the significant effects. At the outset, there are two chief causes for the gradual diminishing of hobbies these days. This can firstly be blamed on the revolutionised digital era. This revolution has transformed people into couch potatoes, as they spend an increasing number of hours in front of their laptops, smartphones, the internet and social media. So obviously the citizens become less interested in carrying out an activity apart from these. Secondly, in an aspiration to achieve materialistically prosperity, they extend their working hours thereby cutting down the time spent on hobbies. For example, my uncle who has been a passionate cyclist for years hardly does cycling after being placed in one of the top multinational companies. Incidentally, the above reasons have detrimental effects on the masses. The most significant impact on the individuals is the diminution in their physical actions. This leads an individual to an unbalanced lifestyle; thereby making them the victims of diseases like high blood pressure, obesity, high cholesterol and heart attacks. This is because of the deposition of fats in the body which might naturally cause obesity after a period of time. Another associated consequence is the loss of efficiency in the place of work. It is wisely said that “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. Refraining from participating in hobbies invariably affects a person’s performance at work because after a certain point they just can’t handle the stress that is associated with their work. To conclude, the evident reasons for people not being actively involved in pursuing pastime activities are undeniably practical in nature. Considering the worrying consequences of it, I am of the firm opinion that it is important that everyone allocates time for the hobbies that interests them. This can help them lead a stress-free and healthy life.