Some people think young people should be free to choose the job that they want, while others believe that they should be realistic and think about their future. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have more different views about how young adults choose a job for their future career path. While some argue that young people should pursue their dream jobs, I believe that being pragmatic and considering the prospect of career growth is better for them. On the one hand, some people think that graduates have a right to choose the job they love. The first reason for this belief is that when people are interested in their jobs, they have more passion and patience in the workplace. This can make young adults desire to sharpen their skills and broaden their knowledge to satisfy their passion, thus leading to good performance in their company. Another reason is that thanks to dream jobs, young people may motivate themselves to overcome challenging projects and complete tasks on time or even before the deadlines, and such action may lead them to achieve higher productivity. Besides, by working well in their workplace, those people may gain respect from their co-workers and credibility from their employers. On the other hand, there are more reasonable grounds that those who graduate from university should be practical for their future career. From my perspective, being unrealistic when choosing a job may cause a threat to young people ’s job stability. Because there have been abrupt changes that can cause a shortage of jobs in some work fields. For instance, due to the covid pandemic dragging on, more tourist agencies suffered from bankruptcy and laid off their staff. As a result, many graduates in the tourism industry (who thought they might become easily wealthy in this area) became unemployed and were unable to pay their living expenses. In addition to this, those who are practical for their future job by evaluating the workplace, salary or career ladder have more opportunities to work in a professional environment and get a well-paid job. Many Vietnamese students who chose to study in the IT field nowadays can get a high salary and more chances to work abroad, for example. In conclusion, although some argue that working in the dream job is useful for graduates, I personally prefer considering a job that would be helpful for their lucrative and prosperous career.