The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

It is undeniable that many metropolitans are experiencing many problems caused by the rapidly increasing number of citizens. This problem creates adverse impacts on city residents and should be addressed by taking the following solutions. Overpopulation in urban areas has negative impacts on the quality of life for anyone living there. One of the obvious effects is that it worsens the traffic congestion and raises incidents on any roads. For example, people living in Ho Chi Minh City have to waste too much time traveling during peak hours which leads to being late for work or reducing the level of productivity. Another undesirable impact is the air and noise population stemming from this trend. The more people living and working in big cities, the more gas emissions released by vehicles. Polluted air may pose several threats for citizens’ health such as respiratory diseases, headaches or serious mental health. To tackle the extended population in large cities, the government and urban policymakers should take responsibility. One of the notable ways to solve this issue is that the government should apply immigration policies to mitigate the trend. For instance, the national governments can subsidize people who choose to live and work in the countryside and provide cutting-edge technologies to develop the economy in rural areas. Another solution can be implemented is that policymakers and authorities should diversify the means of transportation to alleviate the traffic jams in rush hours and construct more trees to mitigate toxic gas emissions. And to curb the detrimental health effects on urban residents, better healthcare should be applied. To sum up, overpopulation is happening rapidly in big cities leading to negative impacts on social and individual levels, particularly on people living here and several remedies should be taken to mitigate this issue.